Sign up to Job Opportunities Bulletin

What Departments could I be working in?

As one of Northern Ireland’s largest employers, the Northern Ireland Civil Service (NICS) employs over 23,000 permanent staff across a wide range of disciplines and aspects of government that touch on everyone’s day to day lives. The NICS comprises all 10 Government Departments which have the responsibility of supporting the Assembly, the Executive and the institutions of government. It works to develop and implement government policies and helps deliver services to the public. Details of the role and areas of responsibility for the 9 ministerial NICS Departments can be found below:

The Executive Office

The overall aim of The Executive Office, is to contribute to and oversee the co-ordination of Executive policies and programmes to deliver a peaceful, fair, equal and prosperous society.

Department of Education

The Department’s primary statutory duty is to promote the education of the people of Northern Ireland and to ensure the effective implementation of education policy. The Department’s main statutory areas of responsibility are 0-4 provision, primary, post-primary and special education and the youth service.

Department for the Economy

The Department is responsible for economic policy development, enterprise, innovation, energy, telecoms, tourism, health and safety at work, Insolvency Service, consumer affairs, labour market and economic statistics services, learning and research, skills training and promoting good employment practice.

Department of Finance

The Department of Finance (DoF) aims to help the Northern Ireland Executive secure the most appropriate and effective use of resources and services for the benefit of the NI community. The key objective of the Department is to deliver quality, cost effective and efficient public services and administration in the department’s areas of executive responsibility.

Department of Health

The Department’s aim is to improve the health and social well-being of the people of Northern Ireland. The Department leads on a major programme of cross-government action to improve the health, well-being and safety of the NI population.

Department of Justice

The Department has a range of powers relating to devolved policing and justice functions. It is responsible for the resourcing, legislative and policy framework of the Northern Ireland justice system.

Department for Infrastructure

The Department’s main responsibilities are to develop infrastructure and services that are vital for everyone in Northern Ireland. This includes water and sewerage networks, roads and footpaths, public transport services, vehicle regulation & road safety, driver licensing, and rivers and inland waterways.

Department for Communities

The Department is responsible for urban regeneration, community and voluntary sector development, historic environment, social legislation, housing, social security benefits, pensions and child support, debt advice, public records, Employment Service, promoting equality, and the development of arts and culture.

Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs

The Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs (DAERA) has responsibility for food, farming, environmental, fisheries, forestry and sustainability policy and the development of the rural sector in Northern Ireland. The Department assists the sustainable development of the agri-food, environmental, fishing and forestry sectors of the Northern Ireland economy, having regard for the needs of the consumers, the protection of human, animal and plant health, the welfare of animals and the conservation and enhancement of the environment.